General Information

Dawlat Al-Imarat al-'Arabiyah al-Muttahidah  union of seven tiny emirates along the eastern Persian Gulf coast of the Arabian Peninsula. Formerly known as the Trucial States, Trucial Oman, or the Trucial Sheikhdoms, they are bordered by Qatar to the northwest, Saudi Arabia to the west and south, and Oman to the east and northeast.

Nearly nine-tenths of the union's area of 32,280 square miles (83,600 square km) is occupied by Abu Dhabi (Abu Zabi), the one emirate stretching along the Persian Gulf coast. The six other emirates are clustered on the Musandam Peninsula, which separates the Persian Gulf from the Gulf of Oman; they are Dubayy (Dubai), 'Ajman, Ash-Shariqah (Sharjah), Umm al-Qaywayn, and Ra's al-Khaymah on the Persian Gulf side and Al Fujayrah on the Gulf of Oman side.

The city of Abu Dhabi was chosen as the capital when the union was formed in 1971.


Additional Sites:

Family Tree Search  Native American DNA Test  Comanche Lodge    Amarillo Texas  Surname Search  
Census Records  Free Genealogy Search  Newspaper Obituaries  Immigration  Military Service  Ancestry DNA Testing  


Middle East Countries

Questions or comments?  

  2017 All Rights Reserved.